The ISCN Board is a voting body comprised of up to 15 members of the ISCN General Assembly, which is composed of one senior leader from each ISCN co-host member university. The Board can invite additional non-voting board members such as senior representatives of universities hosting upcoming ISCN conferences to join its ranks. 

The Board guides the development of the network's strategy and organization. In particular, it determines priority topics addressed by the ISCN, networks and partner organizations of strategic importance for outreach, and effective avenues for knowledge exchange within the ISCN and beyond. Furthermore, the Board approves all agreements with significant operational and financial relevance to the organization and decides on the locations for the ISCN Conferences.

Current Board members include:


René Schwarzenbach

President of the ISCN Board, President of the Platform Science and Policy, Swiss Academy of Sciences

Etienne Marclay

Vice President of the ISCN Board, Vice President for Human Resources and Operations, EPFL


Steve Cannon

Executive Vice-President Administration and Finance, The University of Hong Kong


Göran Finnveden

Vice-President for Sustainable Development, KTH 



Nilesh Jadhav

Programme Director EcoCampus, Energy Research Institute, NTU

Reto Knutti

Director of the Climate Physics Group, Institute for Atmospheric and Climate Science,

Department of Environmental Sciences, ETH Zurich


Claus Nielsen

Executive Vice-President at Technical University of Denmark (DTU)


YONG Kwet Yew

Vice-President, Campus Infrastructure, NUS